Celebrating International Womens Day

It’s that time of year again –  When we celebrate women around the world for all their amazing  achievements.  This will be the first time I am writing my blog  with  no signatures attached.  Their secrets will all be revealed in time.  I’m  on the fly right now and  I just did not want this day to end without acknowledging  International Womens Day –   This day  means sooo much to me as a woman living and working out of three countries.    I am still on my “high”  from last night’s Oscar Awards.

Congratulations to Monique  for best actress in a  supporting role in Precious and another trailblazer Kathryn Bigelow – first woman to win for Best Director in the “Hurt Locker – beating out ex husband James Cameron for the favorite Avatar.  I love when the little movie comes from behind and grabs the prize.  Just like Slumdog Millionaire last year.  Women around the world are so underrepresented and  the Academy  acknowledging  a woman shows another glass ceiling has been broken.

On a personal note I just want to place some names in this blog of women who have  left an indelible mark on my heart and inspired me  over the years.   My sister Jay and my mum  were my first role models –  outside of my family there is  Angela Davis, Winnie Mandela, Oprah Winfrey, Rosa Guy, Harriett Tubman, Madam C.J. Walker, Grace Jones, Terri McMillan, Zora Neal Hurston, Mary Secole and Michelle Obama.  The past couple of years as I have watched my niece  Captain Jennifer Allen soar in her career,  I cannot complete this list without including her   –   Let’s  continue to sing and dance to the beat of our own drums not just today but every day.

2 Responses to “Celebrating International Womens Day”

  1. Hurt Locker. A great film. You seem to have done your homework
    Love the reading. Have a great evening.
    Graphology. I never knew it was so on top of it. M~

Leave a Reply

